Management Team

Dr Frank Amstrong

Chairman: Dr Frank Armstrong

Dr Frank Armstrong is a medical doctor, a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and a Fellow of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine. He is currently Non-Executive Chair of Faron Pharmaceutical Oy (AIM), Non-Executive Chair of BioCaptiva Limited, Non-Executive Chair of Enhanc3D Ltd, a Non-Executive Director of Newcells Biotech Ltd, a Non-Executive Director of Eco Animal Health Group plc and a Member of the Court of the University of Edinburgh. He has previously held Non-Executive roles in listed companies with Summit Therapeutics (AIM and NASDAQ), Redx Pharma (AIM), Mereo Biopharma (AIM and NASDAQ) and Juniper Therapeutics (NASDAQ). He started his career at ICI Pharma/Zeneca Pharma before moving to Bayer AG where he became head of worldwide product development.

Julian Lord

Chief Financial Officer: Julian Lord

Julian Lord has over fifteen years’ experience in the life sciences industry. He was previously Group Financial Controller at Mereo BioPharma Group, working on establishing and growing the finance function and successful listings on AIM and NASDAQ.
Prior to Mereo, he was Head of Finance and Financial Controller at Immune Targeting Systems (ITS) Ltd from 2010 through to its merger with Vaxin Inc in 2015.
He holds a BA (Hons) from Durham University and is a qualified management accountant (ACMA, CGMA).

Dr Mark Payton

Chief Executive Officer: Dr Mark Payton

Dr Mark Payton has previously held senior roles with companies such as GlaxoSmithKline, Glaxo Wellcome and Biogen (now Biogen Idec) and is a Senior Adviser to The Cleveland-based Harrington Project for Discovery and Development.  He was formerly CEO of Oxagen Ltd and Atopix Therapeutics and also co-founder of Orca Pharmaceuticals. He brings extensive experience of growing organisations across all aspects of the biotech environment.

VP Drug Discovery: Dr Phill Cowley

Dr Phill Cowley is a medicinal chemist with over 25 years’ experience in drug discovery. He has held senior leadership positions with Organon, Schering-Plough, MSD and most recently as Head of Chemistry at IOmet Pharma.